Skip to content

Christmas Crafting This Week

November 30, 2009
by

I believe in having a plan for fun with the kids – if I don’t plan activities ahead and make sure I have all the supplies, it just doesn’t happen in our house.  Last night I planned our crafty week, and I’ll let you in on our plans.  If you do any the activities, I’d love to see!

11/29 Write letters to Santa – picture letters are written and waiting for stamps!

11/30 Egg Carton Christmas Tree – There are examples all over the internet.  Here is one from craftelf.  I just prepped the egg cartons, and they’ll get a coat of paint right after lunch.

12/1 We’re making snowflakes (with glitter!) to hang from the arch that is between our kitchen and family room.

12/2 Stained Glass Christmas Trees (link)

12/3 Pom Pom Ornaments (link)

12/4 Christmas tree handprint canvas – I’m really excited about this art project, but nervous it won’t come out like I see it in my head.  I bought a 16X20 canvas at Hobby Lobby (2/$7 on sale, normally 2/$10) and we’ll paint the background a light blue with acrylic paints (and all kids wearing dad’s old t-shirts!).  After the background dries, we’ll all (mom and dad, too!) paint our hands green to make a Christmas tree out of our handprints.  I think it would be fun to add silver snowflakes in the sky with paper and mod podge (maybe?) and somehow put ornaments on the tree, and maybe presents or a train around the bottom.  So stay tuned for our masterpiece and lots of ideas, I’m sure, on what not to do!

What fun winter, Christmas or Hanukkah crafts and activities are you doing with your kids?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

