Skip to content

Family Photo Book

June 5, 2009

IMG_3607

The kids and I whipped out this incredibly easy (“and not even messy!” as my 5 yr old exclaimed) little memory book in about 10 minutes.  It is similar to the little book, “Who Loves Baby?” where you insert pictures of family members and relatives.  I just did our immediate family, but am really thinking of “fancying” another one up a bit and sending it off to the grandparents.  The example I found used patterned cardstock, didn’t write the names (my 3 yr old is learning to spell names, that’s my reason for having them), and tied it all together with a cute little ribbon and charm.  Sometimes when you’re working with 3 kids, quick and easy is what works best, and what they appreciate most!

Materials:

  • Cardstock (plain or patterned)
  • Photos (trimmed to 3×3″)
  • Photo corners
  • Ribbon & charm

Directions:

  • Cut an 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of cardstock in half lengthwise.  Tape together to make one long strip.  Accordian fold every 4 inches (note: I measure out from the middle, so the seam would be covered w/ a picture) – you will have a little extra to trim.  Center a 3×3″ photo in each square and attach with photo corners.  Punch a hole in the back for a ribbon.

– – – – – – – – –

To make our book, I bought the pack of 12″ square Martha Stewart scrapbook paper I’d been eyeing at Wal-Mart (but have no reason to use since I don’t scrapbook), and ended up using 3 pieces for this.  I cut the paper in half (to get 6″ X 12″ strips) and then folded it square, then stacked several pieces inside each other.

Then I punched two holes in each page and tied them with several pieces of ribbon to get our little book.

We added pictures, names and a poem and were done!

for more Family themed activities, click here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

