Skip to content

Spiders & Webs

June 11, 2009

I hate to admit it, but I cannot take any credit for this project.  My mom made this years ago when I was in high school, but I couldn’t pass-up the opportunity to share it with all of you!  Unfortunately, I don’t have step-by-step pictures, but I’ll do my best to explain the “how-to’s”…

DSC03973

For the web…

  • 4 – 1/8″ dowels, 24″ long
  • black yarn
  • black spray paint
  • hot glue gun

Spray paint dowels black.  Hot glue together in center.  Loop yarn around from one dowel to the next, looping around each dowel, forming a web-like design.

For the spiders…

  • 3″ black pipe-cleaners for legs
  • googley eyes
  • thistles (I don’t know the real name… anyone?) or styrofoam balls
  • black spray paint
  • hot glue gun

Spray paint thistles/styrofoam balls black.  Attach googly eyes.   Hot glue pipe-cleaners for legs.

spiders & web

(don’t forget to put away for Halloween!)

For a fantastic resource to everything spiders, KinderKorner has a great thematic unit with books, songs, poems, crafts, recipes, and spider facts.  Please check it out if you have time, or bookmark for use in October! Spiders Thematic Unit

.

For more Bug Week ideas, click here

.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

