Skip to content

homemade beads

September 11, 2009

IMG_6100

This was my first time working with Fimo.  I’ve always been amazed what people can create from modeling clay (is that what it’s called?), and was a little nervous to try it myself.  But when I found a project making beads with it, I figured I’d give it a try.  I’m glad I did, it was fun, easy, and turned out great!

Materials:

  • fimo clay (or the like)
  • crochet needle or cut wire hanger
  • paring knife
  • baking sheet

Knead a small piece of clay for 3-5 minutes

IMG_6060

roll it out into a long skinny snake

IMG_6069

set all 3 snakes out and…

IMG_6072

twist together

IMG_6074

gently roll until smooth, careful not to squish

IMG_6077

using a crochet needle or metal hanger, wrap clay around

IMG_6079

IMG_6080

roll like a rolling pin until smooth

IMG_6081

with a paring knife cut into beads (I did about 1″)

IMG_6086

spread on baking sheet & bake as per package instructions

IMG_6091

Have fun making jewelry, counters, whatever your little heart desires!

What kinds of fun crafts have you made with fimo?  Please share!  My girls and I loved working with the clay, we felt so professional! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

