Skip to content

personalized pillows

September 28, 2009

IMG_6390

With most of the projects I do with my kids, I take pictures along the way of each step.  This time, I was so overwhelmed and flustered that I was lucky to remember to take a picture of the finished product!  You have to understand that I am not, in any way, someone who sews.  I grew up watching my mom sew, it was and still is her favorite hobby.  Me?  I get too frustrated and therefore never try.  But I somehow let Kylie talk me into making one of her friends a name pillow for her birthday.  And while I was a tad stressed, I think it turned out really cute!  It was fairly inexpensive, and Kylie was able to help me with the entire process.

ps. all 4 of my kids are getting a body-sized pillow just like this for Christmas… shhh…

*Materials*

fabric – enough to make a pillow (I got 1 yd, and that was more than enough) plus different fabrics for letters of name

wonder – under (is that what it’s really called??)

stuffing – do your budget a favor and just buy the bag of stuffing, not the preformed pillow.  I saved $15 by doing this, and still have over half the bag left for another project!

*Directions*

Rinse and dry all fabric to prevent shrinking after project is complete.  Iron.

To make the pillow, I folded it in half (right sides together), and then cut the size I wanted, using one of those green boards and circle cutters (I’m embarrassing myself, I know, but I honestly don’t know what anything related to sewing is called!).  Pin around edges, and sew, making sure to leave an open spot where you will stuff the pillow later.

Turn pillow back the correct way, so the outside is showing again.  Set aside.

For the letters, I printed letters on the computer, cut out, and traced onto the wonder-under (the package tells you which side to trace on to).  I then ironed the wonder-under to the different fabrics, and cut-out.  Peel the outside paper layer off the wonder under, arrange letters on pillow, and iron as per directions on package.  Make sure the letters all stick really well before going on to the next step.  If you want, you can always add a little puffy-paint to the edges for added security.

Stuff the pillow and sew up by hand.  That’s it!

Hopefully I didn’t totally confuse you, make you roll your eyes at my directions, or scare you away from sewing! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

