Skip to content

halloween cake pops

October 17, 2009

IMG_7017

How cute are these?!?!?!

Bakerella is some kind of incredible, and while I knew I could never be as good as her, I couldn’t help but give her cake pops a try.  My original thought was to make our cake pops look like pumpkins, but then decided colored candy coating with sprinkles would suit our family just fine.  This wasn’t necessarily a difficult project, just messy.  And I am so pleased with the results, I will definitely be making more for different holidays.  Shoot, maybe I’ll even try and get fancy-shmancy like Bakerella!

*What you need*

1 box cake mix (baked per directions in 9×13″ pan)

1 can frosting (16 oz) wax paper or silicone mat candy melts (I used Wilton’s)

Lollipop sticks

styrofoam block

.

*Directions*

IMG_6987

When cake has completely cooled (a few hours), crumble in large mixing bowl.

IMG_6988

Mix in one can of frosting.  I used my hands, and let me say, it got messy!

IMG_6990

Roll the mix into small balls (meatball size or smaller) and place on cookie sheet.  I used a silicone mat, but you can also use wax paper.

IMG_6992

Melt candy melts in microwave as per directions.  (I melted mine in coffee cups – made handling a hot cup much easier, plus it made the dipping later less wasteful).  Dip the end of the lollipop stick in the melted candy and insert into the cake balls.  Place in freezer to firm, I did mine for 30-60 minutes.

IMG_7015

Once firm, dip in candy melt (I re-melted mine several times b/c it kept getting too thick as it cooled) and sprinkle with sprinkles.  Set in styrofoam block to cool and harden (you can also use a can of playdoh or upside-down collander).

Have fun with this!  If you do this at home, drop us a note- we’d love to link to your cake pops!

Thanks again to Bakerella!

*

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 2:05 am

    This looks like loads of fun, and kid-friendly! Could be dressed up for any special occasion, too.

  2. dishin permalink
    October 27, 2009 1:41 pm

    These look awesome! I made these a couple months ago and they turned out great. They were a lot of work though!

  3. December 8, 2009 4:29 am

    They look delicious, almost like little truffles on sticks made for children. Nice and original idea!

  4. October 25, 2013 9:15 pm

    this looks like fun!!!!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 12 Days of Halloween: Tricky Inspiration for Treats : (cool) progeny

Leave a Reply

