Skip to content

decoupaged name plates

November 5, 2009

IMG_7699

I learned about Mod Podge Rocks a couple months ago, and have been totally hooked ever since.  I have made it a point of searching for fun projects I can do, just to use Mod Podge.  My latest endeavor was thinking of something I could make for our soon-to-be baby’s nursery.  I decoupaged the ceiling fan a few weeks ago, and was excited to do more.  Plus, with a 4th babe, it’s hard to justify spending a ton of money, right?  So I decided to make my own letter/name plates.  Cute, easy, and inexpensive… perfect!

*Materials*

Lucy Belle's room1

unfinished wood plates (I got mine at hobby lobby)

white acrylic paint

scrapbook paper

mod podge

foam brushes

.

*Directions*

print letters on cardstock, cut out

IMG_7488

trace letters, upside-down, on back of scrapbook paper

IMG_7489

and cut out

IMG_7490

paint wood plates

(I painted middles in my 2nd coat, got nervous it’d show)

IMG_7494

while paint is drying, cut out scrapbook paper to preferred size

IMG_7587

you should have something like this…

IMG_7590

time for our favorite medium!

IMG_7592

shmear it on the top of the wood plate

IMG_7593

carefully place paper on top, pressing out any air bubbles

let dry completely!

IMG_7594

measure & glue letters to top using mod podge. let dry!

(yes, I used a ruler b/c sometimes being anal is okay!)

IMG_7601

once dry, shmear the top w/ mod podge, being careful not to drip over the sides

let dry several hours.  re-coat w/ mod podge.

IMG_7623

that’s it!

~ ENJOY! ~

IMG_7699

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 11:03 am

    I really love it. I swear I’ll get to Hobby Lobby soon.

  2. November 5, 2009 2:59 pm

    This is so delightful – I love it!

  3. November 12, 2009 4:19 pm

    So cute! I saw the same wooden blocks in the Craft Warehouse ad here this week. I was thinking about getting some and making coasters for my dad for Christmas. I love this idea so I might have to pick up some extras!

Leave a Reply

